Tuesday, April 21, 2009

Godzilla (1998)

Size Does Matter

Godzilla is a 1998 American science fiction film. It is a Hollywood remake of the Japanese film of the same name. It was co-written and directed by Roland Emmerich.

As "gigantic monster reptile attacks New York" movies go, you've got to admit that Godzilla delivers the goods, although its critical drubbing and box-office disappointment were arguably deserved. It's a shameless, uninspired crowd pleaser that's content to serve up familiar action with the advantage of really fantastic special effects, and if you expect nothing more you'll be one among millions of satisfied customers. There's really no other way to approach it--you just have to accept the fact that Independence Day creators Roland Emmerich and Dean Devlin are unapologetic plagiarists, incapable of anything more than mindless spectacle that can play in any cinema in the world without dubbing or subtitles. The whole movie plays out like a series of highlights stolen from previous blockbusters of the 1990s; it's little more than a rehash of the Jurassic Park movies. The derivative script is so trivial that it's unworthy of comment, apart from a few choice laughs and the casting of Michael Lerner as New York's mayor, whose name is Ebert and who closely resembles a certain well-known movie critic. Perhaps that's a clever hint that this movie's essentially critic-proof. It's stupid but it's fun, and for most audiences that's a fitting definition of mainstream Hollywood entertainment. The widescreen Special Edition DVD includes a wealth of bonus materials--audio commentary by the film's special effects supervisors, a "making of" featurette, the Wallflowers' music video "Heroes," a photo gallery, and a variety of features related to this and all the classic Godzilla films from Japan. --Jeff Shannon

The soundtrack for Godzilla was released in March of 1998 and included a selection of popular alternative rock and hip hop artists from the era. Several songs on the soundtrack (such as Silverchair's "Untitled" and Fuzzbubble's "Out There") were previously unreleased outtakes and leftovers that had remained unreleased until their inclusion on the Godzilla album.

Godzilla Soundtrack (Reprise Records) [Cat. #971-0092]

1. "Heroes" - The Wallflowers

2. "Come with Me" - Puff Daddy featuring Jimmy Page
3. "Deeper Underground" - Jamiroquai
4. "No Shelter" - Rage Against the Machine
5. "Air" - Ben Folds Five
6. "Running Knees" - Days of the New
7. "Macy Day Parade" - Michael Penn
8. "Walk the Sky" - Fuel
9. "A320" - Foo Fighters
10. "Brain Stew" (The Godzilla Remix) - Green Day
11. "Untitled" - Silverchair
12. "Out There" - Fuzzbubble
13. "Undercover" - Joey DeLuxe
14. "Opening Titles" - David Arnold
15. "Looking for Clues" - David Arnold

No comments:

Post a Comment

Disclaimer disclaims any and all responsibility or liability for the accuracy, content, completeness, legality and reliability of the information and links displayed on this website. You (the visitor) understand and agree that can not be held responsible for any damages or other problems that may result from use of this website.